D&D DIce

When my family and I started playing Dungeons and Dragons (D&D), we had no idea what a D20 or a D4 was. We looked everywhere–it took us so long to find the answers! It was like this secret, club language that no outsiders could understand. So I decided, for all the people who are, or will be in my position, to explain what this ‘secret’ code means.

The D in D8 or D20 means dice and the number next to it indicates which dice you need to roll. Okay, maybe it wasn’t such a complex code to break, but surely we’re not the only ones out there who didn’t know?

Which dice for what PURPOSE?

There are a total of 6 dice in D&D, they are the D4, D6, D8, D10D12 and D20. Each dice has a special purpose. As the chart shows, dice 4 to 12 are used to see the amount of damage your weapon has effected to your enemy. Depending on the weapon, depends on what you roll (they act like your weapons). The D20 however, is not used for checking damage but instead used for every other check there is (you might roll a ‘stealth’ check and if you roll high enough, you can hide from your enemy). As important as the D20 is you can’t play the game without your weapons.

D&D Dice Chart

Each dice helps you through the difficult challenges thrown at you by the DM (Dungeon Master – person who runs the games and holds your life in their hands) and are necessary for your characters survival.

All the more reason you should get dice especially for you. You can buy special D&D dice plenty of places online (such as Amazon) with all sorts of cool patterns and colours. Your friends will be jealous!

D&D Dice

Emily 🙂


on “D&D DIce
2 Comments on “D&D DIce

Comments are closed.